Dreams, the Other Side of Reality

I, Gardo, am a leader of farmers. I have a wife who is three months pregnant with our first child.

I was at a meeting until 8:00 one night. When I got home, I felt my eyelids slowly getting heavier… I was so tired, I didn’t even realize that I had fallen asleep. I woke up at the same time that the rooster crowed. It was already 5:00. Oh no, the sun will already be up by the time I hit the road! my wife scolded me as I was getting dressed. “Hoy! The morning light will soon catch up on you, hurry up!” she said. There was a knock on the door. Tok! Tok! When we opened the door, two armed men barged in and took me by force. We were helpless as they dragged me towards the mountain. They started beating me up. “Aaarrgh!!” My jaws almost shattered because of the hard beatings. I was drowning from the blood oozing from my nose. I could no longer see anything. The only sound I could hear was their laughter, “Hahahahaha!” When we reached the top of the mountain, they pointed a gun at me and suddenly, bang!

I woke up with a start. It was just a bad dream. I checked the time. Still midnight. I was trembling and sweating profusely. It seemed so real, it took me a long time to fall back to sleep. When I woke up, it was already 5:00 in the morning, oh no! The rooster crowed. O hurriedly dressed up, my wife scolding me in the background “Hoy! The morning light will soon catch up on you, hurry up!” Wait a minute. This seems familiar. As my dream started coming back to me, there was a knock on the door. Tok! Tok! Tension slowly crept inside me. I could almost hear my own heart beating. I felt so nervous. When my wife opened the door, five armed men barged in. They took me by force and dragged me mercilessly. “Aahh!! Aahh!! Aaaahh!” I knew what was my family flashed in my mind. My wife, our baby… what will happen to them?

When we reached the top of the mountain, they did not shoot me. I thought I was lucky, but then I felt my back was slowly getting heavier and heavier, up to my head. I realized that I was being buried alive in a water drum full of cement.

I wondered why my dream changed. One question entered my mind; Which of the two is just a bad dream, This one or the one before it?

Leave a Reply

